The Lady Neville Recreation Ground is named after the wife of a local High Court judge who purchased the land in 1895 when it was put up for sale as building plots. Their daughter, Miss Edith Neville gifted the land to the parish as a recreation ground in 1925.
Based off Banstead High Street the recreation ground houses a cricket club, bowling green, multi-use games area, tennis courts and a newly refurbished play area.
In spring 2023, ocean waste, such as discarded fishing nets, and food packaging was transformed into an exciting and inclusive new play area with an important message about waste and recycling.
The 65 new play features are designed for children of all ages and abilities to enjoy and include:
- a toddler play zone
- a high play tower with bridge links, platforms, nets and slides
- a play tower with accessible wheelchair ramp, inclusive carousel and multi seesaw
Reducing the carbon emissions usually associated with traditional playgrounds, the new play area will showcase recycling in action. Colour coded equipment will make it easy to identify parts made from 100% ocean waste (such as discarded fishing nets), and parts made from recycled food packaging.
A new 20m x 10m scooter zone, with road markings and a mini roundabout, was also created near the tennis courts.
The café and the toilets are temporarily closed while we work on re-letting and improving the offer and facilities.
Tennis is free at Lady Neville just turn up and play, no need to book a court.
Lady Neville Rec Ground,