Published Thursday, 23rd May 2024

Cllr Eddy Humphreys was re-elected as Mayor of Reigate & Banstead for a second term at the Council’s 50th anniversary Annual Council meeting held at the Town Hall on Thursday 23 May 2024.

Mayor and Deputy Mayor elected

The Mayor, Cllr Eddy Humphreys, Deputy Mayor, Cllr Sue Sinden and Mayoress, Mrs Sarah HumphreysCllr Humphreys, a ward councillor for Banstead Village, was re-elected for the municipal year 2024-2025. Cllr Sue Sinden was elected as Deputy Mayor.

Throughout the year, Cllr Humphreys will be continuing to promote his Mayoralty theme of “togetherness.” 

The Mayor said: “I am looking forward to continuing as Mayor for a second term coinciding with the Council celebrating its milestone 50th Anniversary. The theme for my Mayoral year continues to be ‘Togetherness,’ which is about community collaboration to improve resources and complement each other’s work to ensure a better outcome for our communities and the borough.”

The Mayor’s chosen charities for fundraising efforts in the coming year are Renewed Hope and Kingswood Shetlands and Friends’ new charitable arm TRACKS Through Pastures.

Renewed Hope, based in Redhill, supports homeless and vulnerable people in East Surrey, offering evening meals a winter night shelter and support to build a new life. TRACKS Through Pastures is dedicated to improving the lives of young people and adults with social, emotional and mental health needs through human and animal interaction.

New Deputy Mayor, Cllr Sue Sinden, has been a ward member for Redhill East since 2019 and was most recently chair of the Licencing Committee.

For more information about the Mayor and Deputy Mayor and how to invite the Mayor to your event, visit The Mayor page.

Cllr Richard BiggsNew Executive

Cllr Richard Biggs, who is a ward councillor for Horley West and Sidlow, continues his four-year term as Leader of the Council, which ends in May 2027, following his appointment last year. The Leader reappointed Cllr Victor Lewanski, ward Councillor for Reigate, as Deputy Leader.

Cllr Biggs also appointed a new Executive, which has seven members including himself and the Deputy Leader. They are:

  • Cllr Richard Biggs - Council Leader and Portfolio Holder for Community Development and Prosperity
  • Cllr Victor Lewanski – Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Finance and Assets
  • Cllr Rich Michalowski – Place, Planning and Regulatory Services
  • Cllr Hannah Avery - Neighbourhood Services
  • Cllr Mus Tary - Housing and Support
  • Cllr James King – Corporate Policy and Resources
  • Cllr Nadean Moses –Sustainability and Leisure

Cllr Biggs said: “I am grateful to continue to serve the borough as Council Leader. I look forward to working with councillors from across the Council to deliver the priorities in our five-year plan, Reigate & Banstead 2025, to benefit those who live in or do business in our borough.”

For more information on Executive Portfolios and their responsibilities visit The Executive page.

The Leader will continue with his regular Leader surgeries. To find out more visit the Leader's surgeries page.

Celebrating 50 years of Reigate & Banstead Borough Council

Flag flying on flagpole with RBBC 50 years imageThe Council’s half century was marked with the raising of a special commemorative flag earlier in the day. 

Reigate & Banstead Borough Council turned fifty on 1 April 2024. It shares this milestone with many other borough councils also established under the Local Government Act of 1972, which brought major changes to the local government system and reduced the number of councils from 1,245 to 412.

Throughout its 50th year, the Council will be holding events to mark the anniversary, including tree planting across the borough and a photography competition. Find out more about what’s planned on our RBBC50 page.