Published Friday, 28th May 2021

Last night saw the return of Reigate & Banstead Borough Council’s Annual Council to the Town Hall in Reigate since before the Covid-19 pandemic.

While last year’s meeting was held virtually, in order to comply with Government guidance, a quorum of 13 councillors attended in person, while others joined remotely. Members of the public were also asked to attend remotely.

To keep those in attendance safe, social distancing measures were in place around the Town Hall, including one-way systems. Masks and hand sanitiser were also available.

Councillor Jill Bray was elected as the new Mayor for Reigate & Banstead, with Cllr Rachel Turner appointed as her Deputy.

Following her election, Cllr Bray said: “It’s an honour to be chosen as the new Mayor for this wonderful borough and I look forward to meeting many members of the community throughout the next year.”

Cllr Bray has chosen to support two local charities - YMCA East Surrey and Age Concern Banstead - during her Mayoral term, which runs until May 2022. She also intends to thank and recognise as many individuals and organisations as possible for their contributions during the Covid-19 pandemic.

She explains: “The example of our volunteers, healthcare workers and health professionals during these difficult times needs to be lauded and recognised as we return to a more normal way of life.”

Cllr Bray has been a borough councillor since 2005 and represents the Tattenham Corner and Preston ward, where she has lived since 1982. Over the years, she has served on the Council’s Standards, Planning, Employment and Audit committees, the latter of which she chaired. She was also Deputy Mayor in 2009. Cllr Turner has represented Tadworth and Walton residents since 2000. She was Deputy Mayor in 2007 and has also served as Executive Member for Health in 2016.

Throughout their term in office, the Mayor and Deputy Mayor will represent the borough of Reigate & Banstead at hundreds of functions, including formal receptions, official openings and visits to local community groups. Keep up-to-date with the Mayor’s activities on Facebook and Twitter. To invite the Mayor to a local event, fill out a form online.

During the annual meeting, the Leader, Cllr Mark Brunt, also confirmed his Executive, which now stands as follows:

  • Councillor Tony Schofield, Deputy Leader and Executive Member for Finance and Governance
  • Councillor Tim Archer, Executive Member for Investment and Companies
  • Councillor Rod Ashford, Executive Member for Community Partnerships
  • Councillor Richard Biggs, Executive Member for Planning Policy and Place Delivery
  • Councillor Natalie Bramhall, Executive Member for Neighbourhood Services
  • Councillor Eddy Humphreys, Executive Member for Economic Prosperity
  • Councillor Victor Lewanski, Executive Member for Corporate Policy and Resources
  • Councillor Caroline Neame, Executive Member for Housing and Support
  • Councillor Kanika Sachdeva, Executive Member for Leisure and Culture

Cllr Mark Brunt has been Leader of the Council since 2018 and, after being re-elected for four years in 2019, will hold the post until May 2023.

For more information about the new Executive and their areas of responsibility, visit the Council’s website