Published Friday, 25th September 2020

Reigate & Banstead Borough Council has honoured two former councillors for their long and outstanding service to residents of the borough and the Council.

A photo of Councillor Ross-Tomlin and Councillor SelbyDorothy Ross-Tomlin, former borough councillor for Salfords & Sidlow, and Michael Selby, former borough councillor for Nork, officially received the title of Honorary Alderwoman and Honorary Alderman, respectively, during the virtual Extraordinary Council Meeting last night.

Between them, they have served 59 years on the Council. In addition, Dorothy Ross-Tomlin served two terms as Mayor of Reigate & Banstead, while Michael Selby served a term as Deputy Mayor.

The title of Honorary Alderwoman and Honorary Alderman is awarded to people who have given outstanding service to the borough as past members of the Council. The title enables the Council to invite the holders to take part in and attend civic ceremonies.

The Mayor of Reigate & Banstead, Cllr Rosemary Absalom, said: “It is a great privilege to honour the service of two of our esteemed former councillors, Dorothy Ross-Tomlin and Michael Selby. These councillors dedicated many years to supporting and championing issues on behalf of their local communities, achieving a tremendous amount and creating a lasting legacy. Making them an Honorary Alderwoman and an Honorary Alderman, respectively, is our way of thanking them for their long service to the Council.”

At the Council meeting, which followed, councillors also discussed plans for the posthumous recognition of former councillors Joan Spiers and Brian Stead. Joan Spiers was a borough councillor for Kingswood and Burgh Heath for 32 years, also serving as Mayor of Reigate & Banstead in 2015 and as Leader of the Council for many years. Brian Stead, was a borough councillor for Nork for 24 years, and he also served as Mayor of Reigate & Banstead.