Mayor's Volunteer Awards

Making a nomination

The nomination period for the 2017 awards will open on Monday 6 February 2017 and close on Friday 5 May 2017. An award ceremony will be held at Reigate Town Hall in July.

Submit an online nomination

The awards seek to celebrate the role of the voluntary sector in serving the borough and its residents. They reward those who volunteer their time and show commitment to helping others.

Awards are presented in the following six categories, based on nominations from the community:

  • Individual Volunteer (over 25 years old)
  • Young volunteer (up to 25 years old)
  • Volunteer team
  • Trustee (individual)
  • Trustee team
  • Business Award

The Mayor's Volunteer Awards were introduced in 2004 under their former name of The Mayor's Annual Community Awards.

This annual scheme is organised by Reigate & Banstead Borough Council in partnership with Voluntary Action Reigate and Banstead (VARB).

The Mayor's Volunteer Awards 2017 Flyer

The Mayor's Volunteer Awards 2016

The winners for the 2016 awards can be found below:

Individual Volunteers

  • Cyril Smith (Regent House Community Centre)
  • John Snowden (Downlands Partnership)
  • Paula Richardson (St. John's Ambulance)
  • Ron Gorton (Sight for Surrey)
  • Neil Munday (Susy Radio)
  • Ron Arnold (New Pond Farm Allotment)
  • Lynn White (Redhill and Reigate Marlin's Swimming Club)
  • Bob Barnes (Radio Redhill)
  • Diane Pope (Girl Guiding UK)
  • Hannah Sears (St. Luke's Church)
  • Jean Powell (Reigate Lawn Tennis Club)
  • Jennifer Robinson (The Workers' Educational Association)
  • David Smith (Reigate RFC)
  • Steve Ellis (Shawley Community Primary School)
  • Barbara Wing (Surrey East Trefoil Guild)
  • Ronald Peace (Royal British Legion)
  • Jean Reynolds (Relate, Mid Surrey)

Young Volunteers

  • Gala Evans (30th Reigate Scout Group)
  • Alex Coveney (30th Reigate Scout Group)
  • Stella Gold (St. Mark's Community Lunch)

Volunteer Teams

  • Community Debt Advice Team
  • Horley West Girl Guiding Team
  • Reigate and Redhill Live at Home Scheme
  • St. Francis Church Mum's and Babes Organisers

Trustees (Individual)

  • Geoff Geach (East Surrey Talking Newspaper Association)
  • Caroline Vaughan (Family Line)
  • Paul Veness (9th Horley Scout Group)
  • Marianne Hecker (Us in a Bus)

Trustees (Team)

  • Woodhatch Community Association Management Team

Business Award

  • Piers Vacher (Howard Cundey, Reigate)