Shaping Surrey's Future >>>

Jim McMahon OBE MP

Minister for Local Government and English Devolution

[by email]

PSJimMcMahon@communities.gov.uk

LGReorganisation@communities.gov.uk

Richard.Enderby@communities.gov.uk

09 May 2025

Dear Minister,

RE: Final Plan for Local Government Reorganisation in Surrey

Thank you for inviting us to submit our proposal.

Our proposal has been a collaborative effort between nine of the districts and boroughs in Surrey, all of whom are signatories to this letter. As you requested, we have worked together and engaged widely with stakeholders and our residents, to produce a proposition that reflects the best outcomes for our residents and businesses in Surrey, and for the wider UK.

Our Final Plan for Local Government Reorganisation (LGR) is based on detailed evidence and rigorous analysis. It concludes, confidently, that replacing the current two-tier system with three unitary authorities is the right answer for Surrey.

You have always been clear that plans for devolution, and local government reorganisation, should be built around – and recognise – local identities and economic realities. We fully endorse this approach. By recognising the economic realities of Surrey – that there are three distinct economies – we can maximise economic growth, creating jobs and wealth for our county, while also contributing to Government's growth mission for the UK.

Our proposal lays the essential foundations to unlock devolution and create a meaningful economic footprint to establish a Mayoral Strategic Authority for Surrey, in line with the government's ambitions. Once established, the new Surrey Strategic Authority will be in the strongest possible position to use their devolved powers to ensure and deliver on the national mission of growth, supported by a local authority structure in Surrey that delivers the best economic and democratic outcomes for our residents and businesses.

Our proposal for local government reorganisation in Surrey, is rooted in what local government is all about: local identity, representation and economic alignment.

Yours faithfully,

Shaping Surrey's Future >>>

11 Dalla

Cllr Hannah Dalton Leader of Epsom & Ewell Borough Council Chair of the Surrey Leaders Group Julia McShane

Cllr Julia McShane Leader of Guildford Borough Council

Lando W Gellhan

I STOK

AAR

Cllr Linda Gillham, Cllr Don Whyte, Cllr Robert King & Cllr Steve Ringham Co Leaders of Runnymede Borough Council

KR SED

Cllr Richard Biggs Leader of Reigate and Banstead Borough Council Clir Joanne Sexton

Catherre

Cllr Joanne Sexton Leader of Spelthorne Borough Council

Cllr Shaun Macdonald Leader of Surrey Heath Borough Council

Cllr Catherine Sayer Leader of Tandridge District Council

a.M. Buke.

Cllr Paul Follows Leader of Waverley Borough Council

Cllr Ann-Marie Barker Leader of Woking Borough Council