Planning Committee

Role of the Planning Committee

The Planning Committee meets every four weeks, on average, and is responsible for determining major planning applications, including housing, shopping and office developments. It also reviews proposals for local conservation areas.

You can watch the webcast of Planning Committee meetings in full. Please visit the Webcasting and recording Council meetings section of the website.



To find out more about the work of the Committee please see the documents below.

For more general information about development management and planning matters please visit the planning section of the website.

Membership 2017-18

The membership of the Committee in 2017-18 was approved by Annual Council at its meeting on 25 May 2017.


  • Derek Allcard (Con)
  • Michael Blacker (Con)
  • Jill Bray (Res. Group)
  • Mark Brunt (Con)
  • Graeme Crome (Con)
  • Julian Ellacott (Con)
  • Zully Grant-Duff (Con)
  • James King (Con)
  • Stephen Kulka (Lib Dem)
  • Steve McKenna (Green)
  • Simon Parnall (Con)
  • Jamie Paul (Con)
  • David Pay (Con)
  • David Powell (Con)
  • Michael Selby (Res. Group)
  • John Stephenson (Con)
  • Christian Stevens (Con)
  • Barbara Thomson (Con)
  • Rachel Turner (Con)